Update on Us!

I haven’t posted much lately…well, not at all. A lot has changed for our little family over the last couple of years.
We moved to Oklahoma, following work with my DH. Started over, after the tornado, the failed restaurant venture, the foreclosure, the lack of work, we were all ready for a fresh start.

We found it.

It’s taken a few years to get all settled, but this move has brought big changes.
10933918_10205621211826614_3704809369478580999_nFirst of all, my littles are no longer little! Gone of the days of alphabets and coloring books! We now have a freshman in college and a sophomore in high school (still homeschooling him by the way). They both have jobs at a wonderful family restaurant. I miss them being little sometimes, but we are so very proud of the young adults they have become!

10391446_10205796579370693_6318045205797799740_nWe have settled on a small farm, where I am slowly working my way toward the goal of being as self-sufficient as possible. We bought 5 nanny goats, then brought in two more nannies and a buck. One of those nannies just had twins..to that brings our total up to 10 goats! We have one more due any day! I’m impatiently waiting! LOL! Love them!

Of course, we still have our menagerie of rescue animals.
At the moment, we have 6 dogs, 6 cats, 7 guinea pigs (that started out as two rescue females that were BOTH preggo, unbeknownst to DD who took them in), 7 turtles and a betta fish.

10428567_10205752562270293_2032608291408908449_nWe have made some dietary changes, as DH was diagnosed with diabetes last spring.  We decided to control it with diet instead of meds and I’m happy to say that his numbers are normal now and while he lost some weight (about 30lbs) I was the big winner there with 65lbs!  DS also lost some weight and has shot up tall and slim!  Turning into a handsome young man!
10460408_10204394565881232_3915147272110240153_nBoth kids took up archery through 4-H when we moved, and it has turned into a lifestyle for them.  Some of you are soccer moms, basketball, etc.  I’m an archery mom!  🙂 They compete both in and out of 4-H.  DD is also competing on the collegiate level.  They are good, improving daily and very dedicated to their sport.  If you aren’t really familiar with archery…it’s not easy..and takes many hours of practice..and lots of road time..and money…and many “mom, can you drive me to the indoor range? Can I shoot league? I need new arrows!” ….the list goes on, but it’s ok!  It’s good for them.

Gardening hasn’t been lost, except to the grasshoppers!  The last few years up here have been awful, with huge infestations of grassshoppers.  I try again every year…plants are started in the basement, under grow lights, with the hopes that we wont’ have grasshoppers this year.

Chickens are on the list for spring, as well as some guineas I believe.  Hopefully more babies will be due in the early summer, May or June I’m guessing.  Goats will be for sale, once we have some old enough.  Guinea Pigs are for sale..just the babies.

I’ll try to stay on top of the blog, now that I’m settled and back in the swing of things.  We don’t have internet at home, so blog time is limited to when I have time to sit in the library! LOL!

Love to all!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

